Group 3

Profile – Bridget Doyle

Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

My name is Bridget Doyle. I’m 28 years old. I love going out for coffee, listening to music, walking my dog Lily, playing board games with friends and pottering around in my garden growing my own fruits and veggies.

Where is home for you? Can you tell us about your journey to get there?

I live in SDA in Redcliffe, Queensland. I used to live with my mum and dad, then I moved out to a shared SDA. Unfortunately that didn’t work out and now I live by myself in a SDA apartment. My parents and I had to fight hard to get single occupancy SDA – it was very stressful and took a toll on all of us fighting the NDIS but it was worth it. 

It has been a tough journey to get to my current home but it has definitely been worth all of the tough times.

How did you connect to the work of the Summer Foundation?

I got involved with the Summer Foundation through my mum who had connected with the organisation previously. Then last year while I was visiting Melbourne I got to meet some of the team, which was such a lovely experience.

Can you tell us about the co-design work you have been involved with?

I have been fortunate enough to work on some projects with the Summer Foundation and been able to give my insight through my lived experience as a participant of the NDIS. I’ll hopefully also be able to create resources to help other participants navigate the NDIS more easily.

Why do you enjoy working with the Summer Foundation to share your experience and insight?

The Summer Foundation has always been a welcoming, supportive and safe space to be a part of.  I love being able to give my input into projects that they’re doing. 

Share it on