Working with people in the hospital setting - Summer Foundation
-->
A+
large
A
small
invert
colour
Group 3
reset

Working with people in the hospital setting


  • October 26th, 2021 1:00 pm
  • ONLINE WORKSHOP (NATIONAL)
Starts In:

Learn about how hospitals work towards discharge and how health and NDIS supports can be used to facilitate smooth transitions home.

This UpSkill workshop, brought to you by the Summer Foundation, is designed to help you navigate the tricky interface between the National Disability Insurance Scheme and health when working with people in hospital. We will discuss how hospitals work towards discharge and how health and NDIS supports can be used to facilitate smooth transitions into suitable housing and living well in the community.


This is an interactive workshop and there will be practical exercises, group discussion and opportunity for questions and answers.


Why you should attend:

Support coordinators and NDIS allied health professionals will develop an understanding of the key drivers of hospitals and the NDIS, and how to work collaboratively across the interface. This workshop will better equip the workforce to work with people in the hospital setting to prepare for discharge with appropriate health, NDIS and mainstream supports in place.

The Summer Foundation has provided training on the NDIS to over 3,500 hospital staff across Australia. We’ve developed this training based on our comprehensive understanding of this interface.

Topics include:

  • Key drivers for hospitals
  • NDIS and health working together
  • Early interim NDIS plans for timely discharge
  • Housing supports available under the NDIS including the eligibility requirements for Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA)

Who is this for:

  • Support coordinators
  • NDIS allied health professionals who are assisting a person in a hospital or rehab setting

Presenter: This workshop will be facilitated by Linda Hughes – NDIS nerd, SDA eligibility expert, support coordinator and the Summer Foundation’s UpSkill Lead. For more information please contact: upskill@summerfoundation.org.au



BOOK YOUR SESSION BELOW:

DATE: Tuesday 26 October
TIME: 1 – 5pm AEDT (NSW, VIC, ACT, TAS)
10am –2pm AWST (WA)
11.30 – 3.30pm ACST (NT)
12 – 4pm AEST (QLD)
12.30 – 4.30pm ACDT (SA)
LOCATION: Online workshop for professionals working nationally