Evidence for SDA Outcomes - Summer Foundation
-->
A+
large
A
small
invert
colour
Group 3
reset

Evidence for SDA Outcomes


  • October 5th, 2021 10:00 am
  • ONLINE WORKSHOPS
Starts In:

This UpSkill workshop is designed to build your understanding of the evidence required for an application for Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA). This workshop will help ensure people with disability that you support can exercise choice about where, and with whom they live, and have control over the way their supports are delivered.


This is an interactive workshop and there will be practical exercises, group discussion and opportunity for questions and answers.


Why you should attend:

Around 6% of National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) participants will be eligible for SDA. This workshop is highly valuable if you’re working for people who may be eligible, as you will need to provide the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) with evidence that addresses the SDA eligibility criteria, set out in the SDA Rules 2020 and Reasonable and Necessary in the NDIS Act. This is an interactive workshop where you will gain an understanding of the SDA Rules, SDA eligibility and the evidence required for an SDA application.

Topics include:

  • What SDA is, who might be eligible for SDA and how to untangle the SDA Rules 2020
  • The evidence the NDIA requires to determine if a participant is eligible for SDA funding
  • The importance of addressing the SDA Rules 2020 to safeguard the housing needs and preferences of people with disability
  • The importance of the separation of housing and supports in the NDIS
  • The critical role of support coordinators and other allied health professionals in gathering evidence for SDA applications

Who is this for:

  • Support coordinators
  • NDIS allied health professionals

Workshop Facilitator: This workshop will be facilitated by Linda Hughes – NDIS nerd, SDA eligibility expert, support coordinator and the Summer Foundation’s UpSkill Lead. 

For more info about UpSkill trainers click here.

For more information please contact: upskill@summerfoundation.org.au


BOOK YOUR SESSION BELOW:

DATE: Tuesday 5 October
TIME: 10am – 2pm AEDT (NSW, VIC, ACT, TAS)
7 –11am AWST (WA)
8.30am – 12.30pm ACST (NT)
9am – 1pm AEST (QLD)
9.30am – 1.30pm ACDT (SA)
LOCATION: Online workshop for professionals working nationally

DATE: Wednesday 20 October
TIME: 1 – 5pm AEDT (NSW, VIC, ACT, TAS)
10am –2pm AWST (WA)
11.30 – 3.30pm ACST (NT)
12 – 4pm AEST (QLD)
12.30 – 4.30pm ACDT (SA)
LOCATION: Online workshop for professionals working nationally


UpSkill is an initiative of the Summer Foundation. We appreciate Gandel Philanthropy’s support of our UpSkill program.